What are Chakras?

What are Chakras?

Chakras are an integral part of many spiritual and healing practices. Derived from ancient Indian traditions, chakras are believed to be energy centers within the body that correspond to different aspects of our physical, mental, and spiritual well-being. In this blog post, we will provide a basic understanding of chakras and their significance.

What are Chakras?

Chakras, meaning "wheels" in Sanskrit, are believed to be spinning vortexes of energy located along the central channel of the body, known as the Sushumna. There are seven main chakras, each associated with specific organs, emotions, and spiritual qualities. These chakras are:

  1. Root Chakra (Muladhara): Located at the base of the spine, it represents stability, grounding, and survival instincts.
  2. Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana): Located in the lower abdomen, it governs creativity, sexuality, and emotional well-being.
  3. Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura): Located in the upper abdomen, it is associated with personal power, confidence, and self-esteem.
  4. Heart Chakra (Anahata): Located in the center of the chest, it represents love, compassion, and emotional balance.
  5. Throat Chakra (Vishuddha): Located in the throat, it governs communication, self-expression, and authenticity.
  6. Third Eye Chakra (Ajna): Located between the eyebrows, it is associated with intuition, insight, and spiritual awareness.
  7. Crown Chakra (Sahasrara): Located at the top of the head, it represents spiritual connection, enlightenment, and higher consciousness.

How Do Chakras Work?

Chakras are believed to be interconnected and influence various aspects of our physical, emotional, and spiritual well-being. When the chakras are balanced and energy flows freely through them, we experience optimal health and harmony. However, if a chakra becomes blocked or imbalanced, it can manifest as physical or emotional ailments.

There are various practices and techniques to balance and activate the chakras, such as meditation, yoga, sound healing, and energy work. These practices aim to remove blockages, restore balance, and enhance the flow of energy through the chakras.

Why Should You Care About Chakras?

Understanding chakras can provide valuable insights into our overall well-being. By becoming aware of the chakras and their associated qualities, we can identify areas of imbalance and work towards restoring harmony in our lives.

Working with the chakras can help improve physical health, enhance emotional well-being, and deepen spiritual connection. It can also support personal growth, self-awareness, and the development of intuitive abilities.


While this blog post provides a very basic introduction to chakras, it is important to note that chakras are a complex and profound subject. Exploring the world of chakras can be a fascinating journey of self-discovery and transformation. Whether you are new to the concept or already familiar, understanding and working with your chakras can bring about positive changes in your life.

If you wish to learn more about Chakras book in to one of our Chakra Workshops. 

Chakra Balancing is available at Infinity by our Healers

Back to blog